Introduction

Why did I decide to start a blog? People read my stories and updates on Facebook about the things that go on at Almost Plum Nearly Ranch, then tell me that I should have a blog. So, here it goes.

What is Almost Plum Nearly Ranch? It is a permanent landing spot for animals in need of a home. I firmly believe that if you are going to rescue an animal then you make life better for that animal by getting it veterinary care, feeding it a well balanced diet as well as providing the training and socialization he/she needs.

In some situations, animals (mostly parrots) come to me being so afraid of human handling that the best thing I can do for them, is find them a feathered friend from the already existing flock. On special occasions, those birds can eventually become cage mates. Most of the time, these birds have extremely poor social skills with their own species. Therefore, the only way to give them safe social oportunities with their own kind is by placing birds of like species or size, side by side in separate cages. They can then safely interact with each other, reducing stress and providing the kind of companionship a human can not. And that’s just the parrots.

If you would like to know more about the various animals that call this place home and why I do what I do, I invite you to hang around and follow my attempt to have a blog.

11350446_10205652336601856_5130058110244337891_n

Leave a Reply

